Rusted Axe: Returning to World of Warcraft

I had stopped playing World of Warcraft shortly after the launch of Wrath of the Lich King. I had kept up with the game at a distance, but I found a need to get back into it. To be honest, the Warlords of Draenor trailer is what hooked me back in. Watching Grom Hellscream take back his people from the demons was amazing. Some friends finally pushed me back into the game and now I sit here with an Undead Priest in the mid-eighties and an Orc Warrior that hit twenty-three this week.

Getting back into the game after a time reminds me of the story of Rip van Winkle, but with less tragedy.  The gauntlet of getting to level twenty to gain the ability to ride an (insert one of the hundreds of ridable things here) in the early days was such a hassle. Getting the money for it was also a massive problem. I contemplated learning how to actually ride a horse and swing a sword in real life to just getting the money together to do it virtually. None of these problems exist now. It’s an easy path to get what you need when you need it.

The problem I have now is that I’m drowning.

When you slip several expansions and revamps, you learn a lot has changed. Walking around the game, I see people riding chrome dragons and wearing stuff that would put even the most experimental fashion designer to shame. Their levels are literally a skull with glowing red eyes. Here I am, standing in this Auction House, attempting to sell my wares for a mere three gold per item, surrounded by demigods. I didn’t feel small. I didn’t feel weak. My mind was flooded with questions with the hows and whys of their items. “Why do you have that dragon?” “How did you get that hood?” ”

The guild that I’m in is incredibly friendly and asks little of me. At this point, I am simply collecting fish for them to use on their massive raids that consist of twenty-five people. The game itself is more user-friendly this time around and I am thankful for it. I can understand why people yearn for the days where you had to “earn” your way up the ranks, but the reality is that the majority of the base consists of the casual player.

I am now one of those casual players.

I used to be this hardcore gamer than would rip apart the story just to understand the plot threads more, but I don’t have time for that anymore. Instead, I just want something I can pick up and drop with ease without the pressure of staying constantly updated. Can I get into the game more? Sure! I probably will. However, I spend more time looking over school stuff, trying to hone my craft. WoW is just something I use to unwind with now. I’ll leave the nitty-gritty for those that have the time to do it. God bless them. I’ll just sit there on the edge of the water and fish for half an hour at a time, throwing my catches into the guild bank. The smiley emotes make it worth the time.

Leave a Reply

