On Parties

Drenched in the homemade blood made from Karo syrup, I put on my mask and then immediately take it off. Breathing in it is difficult and it forces me to sound creepier than I already look. For the next eight hours, I stoked a literal fire and a few conversational ones while attempting to not become stuck in one position. After all, it’s Karo we’re talking about.

When you’re a writer, you’re essentially dealing with a life of isolation. Unlike actors or directors, writers are taught to sit at a desk, alone, and force themselves to come up with fantastical ideas. We only collaborate when we are forced to and we then become like a high school clique, picking and choosing who we work with. However, the bigger thing that a writer needs to realize is that in order to sit down at the desk, you need to step away from it.

Go to a party. Have fun.

This is a scary notion for us recluses, but it’s something that needs to be done. Hunter S. Thompson, despite what others might think, was a fantastic writer because he went out and lived life. Assuming how something goes is only part of it. Right now, I still smell a little bit like a bonfire because it’s a smell that’s difficult to get out. Bits of Karo syrup are welded to my hands. I don’t even know why I’m sore. But these are all things I can use to add into a story later.

In a certain way, a writer (or any creative person for that matter), needs to live a life outside of their work in order for them to become more of a three-dimensional creator. If all someone does is live in a world where all they do is X,Y,and Z for eighteen hours of every day, then they run into a strange Mobius strip with their creativity.

In other words, a writer is only as interesting as their own experiences can allow. I’ve never been shot, so I don’t write about someone being shot. I have, however, eaten bear mace and know what it’s like to scream uncontrollably from pure terror. Those are things I can use. So go outside and just reconnect with the world that you’re trying to entertain. It’s not all that difficult.

Leave a Reply

